6. 36

Yet another birthday. As I grow older they seem to possess less and less gravity, apart from occasional blips of self-reflection. Where did 25 go? Oh yes, I remember, and I’d rather not be there. (or 30, for that matter).

This has been a good year. Productive. I completed my undergraduate with outstanding marks and awards. I watched my little girl turn one, watched as she struggled with language, learned to walk, began the baby-steps of manipulation like the cute little apple she is. I’m a week away from completing the first half of my masters degree, and my first half-year as an employeed teacher. I also completed two novels — one of which was bubbling on the stove from around 2004 — and by the end of December I’ll have completed a third semi-nonfiction book, this one roughly 16 years in the making…  and taking a mere three months to write.

It’s been a good year, and next year I hope will be better. Completing my graduate studies, returning to teach history (fingers crossed), living in a more dynamic environment (although this school has already given me enough material for a novella at least), helping my little one in engaging with the larger world… watching her eyes light up to the wonders and the terrors. And another 4 novels to complete by august (three are short, tho, and already begun…)

I suppose my major goal is to cut down the caffene intake. I suspect that I suffer from ardrenal fatigue after a good decade and more of daily consumption (mostly strong green tea, but coffee and energy drinks to boot), a habit which grew particularly-intense during my undergraduate years. I recall slurping energy drinks daily during the summer of 2010 when I was hammering out 5,000-6,000 words at my no-work job. I no longer guzzle those awful beverages… I no longer smoke tobacco or the other stuff… I suppose I should be grateful. But the body hurts more than it used to, requiring I stretch daily; and two cups of strong green tea followed by school coffee turns me into a yawning, lumbering lump by mid-afternoon.

Balance. That shall be my ’36’ goal….

Leave a comment